The Twitter Times

As many of my closer friends know, I have a lot of projects to juggle around and sometimes I simply do not have time complete all of them in due time. Right now the time is no different, in fact, the timing for a smaller project like the one I am about to tell you about couldn’t be any worse. As I have spent the past half a year or so developing the ground work for a few major projects that I will conduct throughout the summer and in the course of the next few years, I have somewhat abandoned my school work. This is of course unacceptable, and I am working my way back into that game as fast as I can.

In the meanwhile I’ve come up with a small project that I had thought I could conduct by myself, but do not seem to have the time to do it anyways, so here I roll out the outline for the product I wanted to build. Feel free to alter it and build it if you have the time, it would be nice though if you attributed me for the idea in the first place 🙂 Alright, here goes all-or-nothing.

Name: The Twitter Times

Twitter Pitch: Read, Share and Comment your news in one place, with Twitter as the back-bone.

Description:

A lot of us use Google Reader for reading RSS-broadcasted news, it is exceptionally good becuase it saves content we’ve already read, we can share it with our friends, we can save it for future reference and so on. There are mainly three problems with this product. First, there is the inability to share with distinct groups of friends. Second, there is the inability to share with the rest of the world, or tell the world what you think of it. Third is the problem of duplicate content.

However there is one other problem, and that is that content is beginning to come from other places than RSS-feeds, and that is e.g. Twitter. This place is beginning to overflow with many short-url’s to sites people read, and people comment with their tweets. Thus tweets about a link are like meta-data to the link which opens the road to another product which I will not cover here. Reading news on twitter has the disadvantage of you not knowing what’s behind the short-url. You are forced to trust the word of the person you are following ahead of your actual common reasoning.

The twitter times acts therefore as a middle-ground. You give up your twitter account and your google account. Thus you subscribe to all the feeds you already are reading, and the people you are already following. As links go in through twitter they are merged with your feeds, and displayed partially, with a Title and a Description, so that you know what the link is about in greater depth, before you actualy visit it. Thus as you read the news, you can see what the people you are following have already said about the matter, get a preview, read if you like, and comment on it yourself – in 140 chars, through twitter.

The keypoints are thus as follows:

  • URL-unshortening
  • Feed reading combined with following
  • Read, comment, and share in one place via a universal channel – Twitter

P.S. Some might argue that you might follow the rss feed of your friends but that doesn’t give you the URL-unshortening part, URL-preview and most of all, doesn’t give you the RT, Reply and so on.

Leave a Reply

